International Associations

The University of Pecs is an active member of various regional and international organisations. Below you find a list of these organisations.



The University Network of European Capitals of Culture (UNEECC) is an international non-profit association, founded in Pécs Hungary in December 2006 by 40 founding members. The creation of UNEECC originates from the idea that it would be useful for Universities and establishments of Higher Education based in European Capitals of Culture to use this well known and prestigious European institution to stimulate new forms of academic and educational institutional collaboration.


Compostela Group 

This network of Higher Education institutions was founded in 1993 at the University of Santiago de Compostela. Its main aim was to establish a university network which would enable co-operation between universities  to preserve the historical and cultural heritage which had emerged around this pilgrimage way to Compostela – a road which has crossed Europe from the IX century.



The Danube Rector's Conference was founded by 4 universities (Ulm, Linz, Vienna, and Budapest) in 3 countries (Germany, Austria, Hungary) in 1983. Currently there are some 44 members. The aims are the development of higher education and research in the Danube region, through bi- and multilateral cooperation agreements. 



The aim of EAIE (the European Association for InternationalEducation) is to promote the internationalisation of Higher Education institutions and to broaden the knowledge of the administrative staff of International Relations Offices in the field of international Higher Education.



The EUA (European Universities Association) was born as a result of the merger of CRE-Association of European Universities and the Confederation of EU Rector's Conferences. As the representative organisation of European universities and national rectoral conferences, it is the main voice of the European Higher Education community. 


Conference of Alps-Adriatic Universities   

In 1979 Dr. Anton Kolb the then rector of the University of Graz, founded the Rector's Conference of the Alps-Adriatic Universities. The Rector's Conference includes the rectors and presidents of the universities and colleges of the entire region of the Alps-Adriatic Working Community. At present this comprises 48 universities.